top of page
Search

I love moving water….is that why I love watercolours?

Totally unrelated to the post title….

This was a moment. I can’t picture it exactly but when I read the words, the feeling comes back. I think most parents have been in this moment once or twice

Early morning lazy loving
Sleepy kisses
Slow
Gentle hands and fingers
Shh
Lie back
Enjoy
Desire brushes away the cobwebs and heralds a new day
Children’s laughter brings a wry smile
Just one more moment
Not a chance
Footsteps scamper and knocks tap against the door
A flurry of activity
Good morning cuddles
A shared smile
A silent promise
Later
Soon 

Todays creating has focused a lot on creating a garden space that we can use, that we might want to sit in and paint in and enjoy. We did a lot. It looks better. Next some colourful plants…I’d like the sound of moving water too but not sure that’s doable right now.

I worked on some mindful watercolours (see relating to the post title a little more), painted some more on the butterflies and two pages in my mindful journaling ideas book.

These two are possible spaces for journalling…so you create as a mindful watercolour but can use them as journalling spaces. I sort of like the idea of a book that looks prettier inside than my journal but I write a lot to empty my head and dig into the why’s and wants of what I’m feeling. Because of this, I struggle with how to combine that journalling with watercolour and not head for acrylics and gesso where you can cover much. The push and pull and pushing back layers is very different with watercolours too for me.

I want to mingle art journalling and watercolours more but I struggle because I often want to start with words first….so I have some new supplies to help with that…..they arrived today!

Often my art journal pages have lots of symbolism and meanings hidden within them and there is a lot of thinking behind them and planning and then I paint and different stuff intuitively happens. I want more of that and I have lots of ideas I want to explore for creating layers in watercolours and textures and incorporating collage but still having watercolours play like watercolours. I’m exploring grounds and different mediums to see how they can help me achieve some of the ideas in my head with different water-colour fish media (watercolour pencils, watercolour paints, gouache, liquid watercolours, Neocolours, Inktense, Tombows, watercolour ground, texture paste, mediums, sponges, Lyra graphite pencils, Stabilo all pencils….and fixative, are things I have that I can play with….any other suggestions for watery based media happily received in the comments please!)

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page