top of page
Search

Wowzers!

So my good news…..It’s the kind of news that made me smile so much my face hurt, clap my hands like a crazed seal and whoop out-loud. Effy (if you do not know Effy you should, everyone should, she is all kinds of awesome), who I may somewhat admire (a lot) kindly said it was OK for me to do my own take on a technique she’d taught in BOD (Book of Days) for my mindful watercolour group.

I did it this weekend, with many hiccups….lamps crashing to the floor, along with all my prima colours pencils, dogs barking, husband blowing his nose and sneezing….it was somewhat of a circus. But I did get it done and sent Effy the link, she’d said she’d like to see ’cause she’s supportive and lovely like that.

I tentatively offered that if it was any use in any way she was welcome to use it…just as a message arrived from her asking if she could use it as a bonus lesson in BOD 2019 All Stars (awesome art journalling class, year long and fantastic value for money with guest teachers and a smorgasbord of awesome). So me, teaching something in an actual real class….an EFFY class….I was a little excited and then I read the message that went with it. The ‘you are a teacher’, you are good enough, you are good enough for me to want to include this in my class. It hit me in the feels, OMG ‘take that you shitty I’m not good enough imposter syndrome gremlin you!’.

I am still riding the excitement wave. I mean, I may have had a moment when I was waiting to hear it had gone up and wondered if Effy had realised I was not a teacher and was not any good and had changed her mind….but it was a teeny moment, honest. Also she took out the sneezing and nose blowing for me and put in lovely piano music….she blinged me up, lifted me up and I am immensely grateful.

I did some mindful watercoloring after I journaled today, I picked colours based on my mood….yellows, oranges, orange reds and quin. magenta….because it’s an awesome colour! I feel good. Her words made me feel good, amazing in fact. And I know she knows how much that means. She asked me to teach in BOD2020 too…..I said yes. I’m still riding the happy wave so I haven’t freaked, panicked, or hid under a blanket yet.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page